Chapter Book Spotlight/Excerpt: Hide and Go Beak (The Great Mathemachicken) by NYT bestselling author Nancy Krulik, illustrated by Charlie Alder…plus a giveaway!

About The Book:

Title: HIDE AND GO BEAK (The Great Mathemachicken 1)

Author: Nancy Krulik, Charlie Adler (Illustrator)

Pub. Date: January 18, 2022

Publisher: Pixel+Ink

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Pages: 96

A new young chapter book series about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things–by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik for fans of Unlimited Squirrel and Bumble and Bee.

Chirpy is a young chicken stuck in the family coop. But she’s not like the other chickens who just sit around peck peck pecking all day. She’s intrigued by the children who come home from a place called school. They always look so happy! (Well, most days.)

So Chirpy sneaks onto the bus one morning, hides in the classroom . . . and discovers a true love of math. When she shares what she’s learned with the other chickens, they think she’s one kernel short of a cob.

Even so, Chirpy is determined to find a formula for fowl success by pecking away. But when a hungry fox tries to attack the coop, can she find the equation for a simple solution?

With lively two-color art throughout and a fun hands-on simple machine activity, this eggs-ellent hilarious young chapter book series starter is a Grade-A pick for emerging readers to get them eggs-ited about science and math.

Reviews:

“This STEM series debut for newly independent readers provides a
light but engaging look at simple machines.”—School Library Journal

“A smart, sprightly chapter book series starter. . . . Short, dialogue-driven paragraphs by Krulik (the Princess Pulverizer series) are peppered with ‘eggs-tra’ humor and chicken wordplay . . . while Alder’s
(Doggo and Pupper) cartoon spot illustrations, rendered in tones of yellow, gray, and black, provide plenty of visual characterization”Publishers Weekly

 

EXCERPT:



About Nancy Krulik:

 

NANCY KRULIK is the international bestselling author of more than two hundred books for children. Her series, including Katie Kazoo, Switcheroo; George Brown, Class Clown; Magic Bone; Princess Pulverizer; and Ms. Frogbottom’s Field Trips, are beloved around the world. She lives in New York City.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon |BookBub

 

 

 

 

About Charlie Adler:

CHARLIE ALDER has written and illustrated many books for children, including Daredevil Duck and Chicken Break! When not drawing chickens, Charlie can be found in her studio drinking coffee, arranging her crayons, and inventing more accidental animal heroes. She lives in Devon, England.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a Finished Copy of HIDE & GO BEAK, USA only please.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/17/2022

Mythical
Books

Excerpt/IG Post

1/17/2022

#BRVL Book
Review Virginia Lee Blog

Excerpt

1/18/2022

YA Books Central

Excerpt

1/18/2022

Two Chicks on
Books

Excerpt

1/19/2022

The
Phantom Paragrapher

Excerpt

1/19/2022

Nonbinary
Knight Reads

Review/IG Post

1/20/2022

Bookhounds YA

Review

1/20/2022

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review/IG Post

1/21/2022

One More
Exclamation

Review/IG Post

1/21/2022

Nerdophiles

Review

Week Two:

1/24/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

1/24/2022

Locks, Hooks
and Books

Review

1/25/2022

Pick a good book

Review

1/25/2022

@curlygrannylovestoread

Review/IG Post

1/26/2022

For the Love of
KidLit

Excerpt

1/26/2022

perusewithcoffee

Review

1/27/2022

Coffee
and Wander Book Reviews

Review/IG Post

1/27/2022

Eye-Rolling
Demigod’s Book Blog

Review/IG Post

1/28/2022

two Points of
interest

Review

1/28/2022

@jypsylynn

Review/IG Post


One thought on “Chapter Book Spotlight/Excerpt: Hide and Go Beak (The Great Mathemachicken) by NYT bestselling author Nancy Krulik, illustrated by Charlie Alder…plus a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s